Tags

, , , , ,

We finally renovated the house. Now Adrienne and I no longer share a bedroom, we each have our own. It’s still a work in progress but it looks good. Once I get a job I’ll start making more and more improvements on it. Mum and Dad chose me to be the one to inherit this place so I’m going to make sure I take good care of it.

house_gen2_outer

house_gen2_1stfloor

house_gen2_2ndfloor

Sebastian and I met in front of the museum where Mum works for our date. I tried my best to play it cool I didn’t want to come across as a nervous wreck. So I told him a few jokes I learned from Dad and he was hysterical.

212

“You’re Dad sounds fun. I can’t wait to meet him.”

“I’ll introduce you the next time you come over. So where’s this spot you were talking about?” I ask.

“It’s the overlook by the lake. I’ll race you to it.”

We started jogging and I think he was letting me win because he was lagging really far behind.

213

Finally we got there but I was so tired from the run that I had to sit down. “This is a really nice spot,” I say to him, “You probably bring all the girls here.”

“I’ve only brought one girl here. You.”

214

“I need to say something,” I began. I spent all morning rehearsing what I’m about to say and I’m a little nervous about the outcome. “Sebastian I like you, I really like you.”

“I like you too Bree…”

As much as I like hearing him say he likes me I need to interrupt him so I can get this off my chest. “I’ve liked you since before I started tutoring you. That’s why I volunteered to be your tutor. The more I got to know you the more I realise that you’re kind, sweet, funny and most of all you treat me with respect. Everyone else makes me feel like an outsider and well you make me feel like I belong. So thank you for that.”

“Is that all?” he asks.

215

I stand up and nod and then he looks at me with a smile on his face. “Bree, I’m not doing you some favour by being nice to you so there’s no need to thank me for that. I really like you too and I’m glad the feeling is mutual.”

216

I don’t know what happened to me but all of a sudden it’s like a force took over my body and pushed my lips closer to his.

217

I caught him off guard because he had this startled look on his face and I’m swarmed with regret thinking I just ruined it. But then he takes my hands in his and smiles at me.

“I’m glad you made the first move,” he says. “Now that we’ve got that out of the way…” He pulls me into his arms and kisses me deeply. The sensations I feel right now are indescribable.

218

We didn’t do much star gazing for the rest of the night.

******************************************************************

The next morning I decided to break my no-carb diet and indulge in some French toast for breakfast. I had such a good night last night that I felt the need to celebrate.

219

Adrienne comes downstairs and sits next to me. I’m so excited to tell her that not only did I go on my first date, but I got my first kiss and first boyfriend all in one night. Her timing could not have been better. “Ade! I’ve got such good news!”

220

“Me too, I’m engaged!” She squeals excitedly.

I slowly swallow some of the remaining French toast in my mouth so I won’t choke on it as I sit there in shock. “What? You’re engaged….?”

“Yeah last night I proposed to Carmelo and he said yes. I told Mum, Dad and Chris last night when you weren’t home. They said you went on a date with Sebastian. Sooo… how was it?”

221

You proposed? Like got down on one knee and proposed to him?” I’m gonna ignore her question about my date because this just took precedence. “Why do you even want to marry him? You barely know him and he doesn’t even have a job!”

“Because I love him and timing doesn’t matter when you know how you feel about someone. And he does have a job by the way, and why are you being so judgemental Bree? I thought you’d be happy for me. Everyone else is.”

I’m not happy about this. Carmelo is not the guy for her. He’s too moody and he has an attitude. If she thinks everyone else is happy about their marriage it’s because no one wants to burst her bubble. Mum and Dad are big on the whole learn-from-your-own-mistakes method of parenting but I’m not going to let her commit a huge mistake. “Don’t marry him Ade. You’ll regret it. No one likes him because he’s not worthy of you…”

222

“Look, I don’t want to argue. I’m going to get ready for work. I’ll talk to you later.”

She got up and went upstairs. She was visibly upset and maybe I am being too harsh and critical. I don’t really know Carmelo all that well but from what I do know, he’s just so wrong for Adrienne. Hopefully I can convince her to not marry him.

223

