Tags

, , , ,

Danielle was such a cute baby. She was so cute she rarely ever lied in her own bassinet because everyone always wanted to hold her.

Adrienne would grab her up as soon as she got home from work. Instead of sharing office gossip at the dinner table she would share it with her niece and Danielle would coo and giggle as though she understood every single word her aunt said.

298

Sebastian was enjoying fatherhood as we all knew he would. He cuddled with her, played with her and even made silly faces all for the sake of amusing her so she wouldn’t cry. He even volunteered to be the one getting up for the 2 am feedings and diaper changes allowing me to sleep in until morning. What an amazing husband huh?

299

I didn’t want to take any maternity leave because I knew I would lose my mind if I had to remain at home unchallenged while caring for an infant. We signed Danielle up for day care until Adrienne got off from work in the afternoon since she would come home first. I think the responsibility of caring for her niece made her change her blooming party girl ways. She stopped going out to bars and staying out until early in the morning. But she was seeing someone and she tried to keep it a secret from us but we all knew something was up. She always went into the next room whenever her phone would ring and would spend hours chatting with someone online. I decided to confront her one afternoon.

300

“I know you have a boyfriend Ade.”

“Have you been spying on me?” she asked, the irritation was obvious on her face.

301

“I’ve known you my whole life. It’s easy to see when you’re hiding something.”

She sighed knowing I wasn’t going to give up until she told me the truth. “His name is Alexander. We met at The Solar Flare Lounge a few months ago and we went on a few dates since. I really like him a lot and I don’t want to rush things like I did with Carmelo so we’re taking it slow. Plus he lives in Willow Creek so it’s pretty much a long distance relationship.”

“I hope you know what you’re doing. You just got rid of Carmelo and I can’t deal with another loser coming into this house…”

“Didn’t you hear me say I’m not rushing this time?!” She practically yelled. “I’m not an idiot Bree. I know what I’m doing!”

302

“You said the same thing when you married Carmelo. How did that work out for you?”

“You will always rub it in, won’t you? I make one mistake and you keep holding it over my head. I’m a big girl – a grown woman – I don’t need my little sister judging me.”

“That’s not what I’m doing!” I protested. “I only want what’s best for you. I don’t want you to get hurt again.”

She didn’t say anything else. She got up and went outside by the pool refusing to talk to me for the rest of the day. She shouldn’t get so upset with me considering her history of poor decisions when it came to relationships. She’s too trusting and nice to all the wrong people. For all I know this Alexander guy might be another leach just like Carmelo.

A few days later she told me and Sebastian that she invited Alexander over for the weekend and he would be coming that afternoon. I was completely against letting a stranger stay in our home for the weekend but my good husband convinced me to give this guy, and Adrienne, a chance so I relented. When he arrived I was completely surprised to learn who this Alexander really was. He was Alexander Goth!

303

He was the son of Mortimer and Bella Goth, one of the richest families in Willow Creek! His father, Mortimer was one of the owners of the museum where Mom worked as well. This information didn’t do much to convince me that this guy was right for her but at least now I learned he wasn’t going to be some bum ready to mooch off of her.

The three of us sat down at the dining table. Sebastian stated he wanted to be there to mediate my interrogation (his words, not mine) but Danielle needed attention so he took care of her leaving me to get to know Adrienne’s new boyfriend better.

304

I did like the way he looked at her and spoke to her. He treated her like a lady and he was well-mannered. He did have a few cons though. For one, he was older than her and for a rich middle-aged man I couldn’t understand why he wore a sweatshirt and sneakers all the time but the Goth family were known for being eccentric – if that’s the word to describe them. The next thing was that he was unemployed and living at home with his elderly sister Cassandra. I had no problem with him living at home with his sister – I live at home with my siblings – but it is strange that neither one of them have had a career, been married or had children. It was like they were hermits and it made me wonder what was wrong with them both.

“Adrienne says that you are very protective of her,” he said to me.

“I am. She is my best friend as well as my sister.”

“I’m also protective of my sister, perhaps too protective, but I understand you. Not many people know this but my sister has suffered from depression since her teen years. She has good days but sometimes it gets pretty bad.”

305

“I’m sorry to hear that.” I said.

“Since our parents died I’m the one taking care of her. Before I knew it, so much time passed… I missed out on a lot in my youth but I don’t regret giving it up to do the right thing by Cassandra. I thought my chance at love had passed…until I met Adrienne. I genuinely love your sister Bree. I want to do right by her. I know she’s not yet ready for a serious commitment but when she is, I’ll be right here ready to treat her the way she deserves.”

He said all the right things and I knew he meant them. His sister’s condition and his commitment to taking care of her explained a lot about him but it also highlighted his good traits.

306

“As much as it pains me to admit when I’m wrong, I’d say you made a good choice with this one Ade.”

“Oh my God! What’s happening here?! Has hell frozen over?! Did my sister say she was wrong and I was right!”

307

She made this funny face while she was being sarcastic and it made me smile more than it irritated me. “It would appear so.”

308

I gave them my blessing and I made a promise to Adrienne that I would try my very best to not be judgmental when it came to her love life. It was obvious how deep their feelings were for each other. They didn’t even wait until I was completely out of the room before they started making out in the kitchen for gnomes’ sake!

309

