Tags

, , , , , , ,

Balancing motherhood and my aspirations were not as challenging as I imagined. Danielle was so well behaved and she hardly ever cried. She made it easy for me to focus on my chess moves even while she was in the room.

310

I certainly felt really lucky. And I really hoped the next one would be just like her.

Speaking of the next one… I was pregnant again.

I knew I wanted another baby I just didn’t want it so soon. My body just bounced back from the last one and I wasn’t prepared for it to go through that hell again. Plus I was so lucky to have a non-crier like Danielle. What if the next baby wasn’t as good as her?

I expressed my concerns to my husband that evening after the pregnancy test. Perhaps my tone could have been less negative but I needed to communicate my feelings.

“You’re not the one carrying around another Sim in your uterus! You’re not the one that’s going to gain all the weight and stretch marks! You’re not the one that would be too tired or too nauseous to do all the things she’s passionate about! It’s me! So excuuuuse me for not being over the moon!”

313

“I understand that you’re frustrated because everything you planned out meticulously is not falling into place but you have to get real honey. Not everything goes according to plan, life is not perfect! You’re acting like this pregnancy is the worst thing ever and it’s not. We’re going to be parents again, this is great news! Why are you acting like your whole world has fallen apart?” He was so calm and collected even though he was scolding me.

314

Damn! I hate it when he makes more sense than me. “I’m sorry. I’m overreacting, as usual.”

He sighed and then sat down next to me on the bed. “Need me to rub your shoulders grumpy? You look tense.”

315

“You’re so good to me even when I’m not good to you.” I said honestly.

“You are good to me. You just go overboard sometimes, that’s when I bring you back to normal.”

316

I relaxed as Sebastian rubbed my shoulders and I started to warm to the idea of a new baby.  At least my children would be close in age. Perhaps if I have another girl then she and Danielle will be close just like Adrienne and I are.

The morning sickness was not welcomed though.

317

I couldn’t keep anything down for too long during the first and second trimesters. It was worse than the last time. I couldn’t even enjoy my favourite cobbler for too long before getting the urge to bring it all back up on the kitchen floor.

318

There was also some more big news. Adrienne was also pregnant!

She had also been feeling sick so she took a pregnancy test the last time Alexander came to visit and the result was positive.

319

But she said his response was far from positive.

“How did this happen? We were so careful! I can’t believe this!” He cried while they were still in the bathroom after taking the test. She said he didn’t sound like he was angry, it was more like he was scared. “What am I going to do?”

“It’s alright Al. I know you don’t have a lot of experience with kids but…”

“I’ve never liked kids and I never wanted them. Besides I’m so old now honey. What if I don’t live long enough to see it become an adult?!”

320

“What are you trying to say?” she asked him, afraid that he would brush her off.

“I won’t abandon you or this baby Adrienne. I know that’s what your biological father did to you and I promise that won’t happen. I love you too much. I’m just… I’m just a little freaked out.”

Adrienne hugged him to calm him down.

321

“I love you too Al and I know you must be scared and I understand. This baby won’t be here for a while, take your time to come to terms with the idea of being a father. We’ll be here when you’re ready.”

“You told him what?!” I yelled after she finished giving me the story.

322

“He knocks you up and you’re basically giving him an opportunity to run away from his responsibilities Ade!”

As cool as cucumber she just put her hands on my belly and started talking to the baby. The baby responded with a kick and I couldn’t help but smile at that.

323

She completely ignored my outburst over a serious subject and simply said, “My life little sister, let me live it how I choose to, okay?”

I did promise her I would back off when it came to her love life but I just thought she was making a huge mistake.

It was nice having someone around who was pregnant as well. Sebastian now had to make midnight pancakes for two pregnant ladies instead of one. It should’ve been Alexander’s job to get up at midnight to help fulfil her cravings but he was hiding in his mansion in Willow Creek while she was here all by herself. I couldn’t understand why she didn’t insist he be with her during this time. Surely he had enough money to hire someone to stay with his elderly sister for a few days.

324

I started getting jealous of Adrienne and how pregnancy treated her. She barely gained any weight and she never got as uncomfortable and tense as I did. She was always all smiles. I was resentful of her cheerfulness.  The one thing I wasn’t jealous of though was that unlike her I had my husband around for whenever I got a craving for some…ahem… bedroom treats.

325

I almost forgot to mention that Christopher found new love with a nice girl named Chloe Barakat. Weird last name, I know, but she is very pretty.

326

I think I like her more than that Samantha girl…or was it Stacy? No, no it was Savanah. She was barely a blip on the radar for me anyway. Apparently she dumped him and then promptly left town like he didn’t even matter to her at all. Can you believe that? Luckily soon afterwards he found comfort in Chloe’s arms. She also works in entertainment like him.

One day I came home from work and saw this happening by the front door.

327

My younger brother was going to get married soon! I was so excited to help them plan the wedding once they decided on a date. I made sure to let them know that whatever date they choose has to be after Adrienne and I have our babies because we don’t want to have a situation where either one of us goes into labour during the ceremony and ruin the wedding. They agreed it was fine by them as they were in no rush.

Before we all knew it, it was time for Danielle’s birthday. I was a bit sad to no longer have my cute, cuddly baby but she grew up beautifully. She looks so much like Sebastian and even inherited his green eyes and smile.

328

She’s such a daddy’s girl as well. Instead of playing with her toys she would rather stand by his side talking to him about her day even when he would be working out in the study.

329

Sometimes I wish she would want to spend that much time with me. When I was her age I always wanted to be around my mother and I couldn’t wait for her to get home from work. Danielle is so independent though.

330

Just like me, I never have to worry about her getting her homework done. But I do have to worry her interaction with other kids at school. Her teachers complain that she’s a bully because she’s mean to some of the kids. I don’t know why they would think such a thing about my angel.

331

I’m sure she was just standing up for herself. No one knows better than me about how mean school children can be. Christopher moved into Mum and Dad’s after asking Chloe to move in since they needed more space so we redecorated his old room for Danielle. I spared no expense on making sure the room was exactly the way she wanted it. She liked it, even though she criticised the amount of purple used, despite asking for it to be that way. Kids!

332

I just realised that once the babies come we’ll be living in a full house. Chloe just moved in and Adrienne appears to be giving Alexander more time than necessary to get over his fear of fatherhood so pretty soon we’ll have a full house. We might have to remodel the house to make more room for all eight of us and due to zoning restrictions which allow a maximum of eight Sims per household, Chris and Chloe will have to move out once they decide they want to start a family. I don’t know if I’m ready for such a big change as yet. As much as I nag Adrienne about moving in with Alexander and even though sometimes I butt heads with Chris, I’ve always lived with my brother and sister and I can’t imagine waking up one morning and not seeing both of them at the breakfast table.

Especially since baby number two is on the way…. I’ll need all the help I can get!

333

