Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Zachary had Mother pack my bags for me because he wanted our honeymoon location to be a surprise. It was indeed a surprise. At first, I thought the car hired to drop us was going to take us to the airport so we could travel to Windenburg or some other European country but when I saw the driver going straight on the sign that said Granite Falls 2km North it became clear to me that my glamourous European honeymoon had turned into a camping trip. Needless to say, I was disappointed and angry but when Zachary assured me we would not be sleeping in tents outdoors but in a rented cabin, I started to relax and talked myself into giving this trip a chance.

1144

The cottage was nice, a little big for just the two of us but still nice in a quaint sort of way. Zachary told me he originally planned for us to go to Windenburg but all flights were cancelled at the last minute due to a snow storm so he called in a favour and got us this cabin in the woods. I decided to forgive him as he had no control over the weather and because it was still our wedding night and I didn’t want to spend it mad at my husband.

1145

We wasted no time in finding the master bedroom so we could get down to business. We hungrily and passionately kissed each other as we frantically tried to get undressed.

1146

“Wait.” I said as I broke our kiss. I almost forgot about my surprise for him. Stepping back, I pulled down the zip of my dress to reveal the white corset lingerie I had on underneath. I never bought lingerie before as I never needed to but the sales representative at Bella’s Secret assured me he would love it. He smiled at first but then said nothing and his silence only added to my nervousness. “Don’t you like it?”

1147

“Of course, I love it. You look so, so good.”

“Then why do I feel like you’re hesitating?”

“I’m not hesitating, trust me. I’ve wanted you ever since I met you. It’s just that even though I’ve done this before I feel just as nervous now as I did on my first time. I want to make it special for you, for us.”

1148

“It will be.” I pulled him towards the bed and we started kissing. My nervousness was soon replaced with excitement and desire. I’d been waiting for so long and all of my pent up frustration was finally about to be released.

1149

Zachary succeeded in making it special. He was so gentle and loving. It was quite a memorable night. I won’t give too many details because, well, it’s unbecoming of a lady. Let’s just say, it got very, very hot under those sheets!

1150

It was the best night’s sleep of my life. After I had breakfast in bed, prepared by my husband, and we showered a very long shower together, Zachary suggested going on a hike. I wasn’t fond of outdoor activities like hiking but Zachary being outdoorsy wanted to and since there was no television, computer or anything fun to do indoors I agreed.

1151

When we arrived last night our cabin didn’t seem like anything special. It wasn’t modern, there were no electronics and it was shabbily decorated but once we went outside I finally saw its appeal. It was right on the lake so it had an unobstructed view of the snow covered mountains of Granite Falls. I had never seen a view more gorgeous than this one.

“Don’t you just love the air out here darling?”

1152

“Yes, I do. It’s actually kind of romantic.”

“Ah, the wife is feeling amorous. It’s a good sign. I’m glad I made the right decision in us coming here.”

“You’re still not off the hook. You owe me a romantic getaway to Windenburg.”

“I have not forgotten but let’s enjoy Granite Falls for the moment, shall we?” He kissed me passionately and I was tempted to tell him to forget the hike so we could go back to bed but I actually wanted to see more of this place.

1153

We trekked down to the nearby river and noticed there were a lot of fishes swimming around in the water. Zachary said it was the perfect time to start fishing as later on in the day they would swim further down the river. I don’t like fishing. The idea of baiting and then standing around in the muddy parts of a river bed in the hopes of catching a slimy fish did not appeal to me. I hope he’s enjoying how accommodating I’m being on this trip because on any other occasion I would not compromise. He was so excited about it though especially when he caught his first fish.

1154

He caught a total of three fishes by the time it got dark. I had long given up and began playing a game on my cell phone to relieve my boredom when he suggested returning to the cabin. Then we decided to build a fire by the pit outside so we could roast the fish he caught. He looked so strong and masculine chopping wood and tossing it into the fire. It was quite a turn on.

1155

The warmth of the fire was welcomed on that cold night. I did not want any of the roasted fish because I had no idea how clean the water of the river was and I did not want to chance food poisoning so I roasted a marshmallow instead just for fun, deciding I would make a sandwich or a salad for myself later on. He said it tasted pretty good anyway so I’ll take his word for it.

1156

After dinner and a shower, we cosied up on the bed choosing to do my new favourite activity to keep ourselves warm. It was the most fun thing we did for the whole day in my opinion. Zachary loved the outdoors so a day of hiking and fishing was enjoyable for him but I’m glad we were both able to agree that our night time activities were the best of all.

1157

Still, after two straight days of hiking through the woods, fishing by the river, talking with the park ranger and campers, and smelling that gross scent of burning fresh fish, I had enough! My breaking point was when we went to the Granite Falls National Park and he asked me if I wanted to go fishing. Fishing? Again?!

“No way! I’m done with the fishing! I’ve had it!”

1158

“What’s wrong with you? I thought we were having fun.”

“Fun, I was only doing what you wanted but when are we going to do what I want to do?”

“Well, what do you want to do, Gemma?”

1158a

I thought about it only to realise there was nothing here that I wanted to do. There were no galleries with pieces for me to admire and critique, there were no spas for me to get a facial or a mani-pedi, there were no stores for me to go shopping and no cafés with gourmet meals for me to savour. There was nothing here at all for me to enjoy! “I want to go home.”

1159

“Home? Are you kidding? We have the cabin for two more days.”

 “I don’t care. I’m so bored and you obviously didn’t take me into consideration when you were planning this trip. If you knew me at all, you’d know I hate all this stuff!”

“Stop being such a spoiled brat Gemma!”

“DO NOT raise your voice at me! Don’t think you can talk to me any way you want because we’re married now.”

1159a

“Then stop being such a spoiled brat and I’ll stop calling you one! I worked really hard to plan this trip at the last minute. There’s really no need for you to be so ungrateful!”

I was in shock. He raised his voice at me and he called me a spoiled brat. He never spoke to me this way before. Was this what I had to look forward to in our marriage? Why couldn’t he understand how miserable I was? It’s his job to make me happy!

“I’m gonna take a walk and cool off before I say something I regret. I suggest you do the same.” He jogged away, almost as though he couldn’t wait to get as far away from me as possible.

1160

We just had our first fight as a married couple and our first fight ever and he just runs off like a coward. I was so angry and also so mad that I had no cell reception under the canopy of trees to be able to call someone and vent my frustration.

1161

Then I started to wonder if I really was being a spoiled brat. A lot of people have called me that before and I just ignored them. Somehow, when Zachary said it, it actually hurt my feelings. I’ve always been outspoken and if I didn’t like something I speak up and make it known. It really wasn’t his fault our original honeymoon plans had to change and any other man would have settled for us staying at home instead of planning a backup trip. It wasn’t ideal but it wasn’t all bad. I really enjoyed when we would sit by the campfire and chat about our day. I did have fun some of the time and I knew he was having a blast so it wouldn’t kill me to try to put up with the things I didn’t like just a few more days.

He came back after twenty minutes and asked to talk to me. We walked over to the ranger’s station and sat on the bench outside.

“Zachary I’m sorry for overreacting.”

“No, you’re right. This is not just my honeymoon, it’s yours too. I have a confession. A part of me was resentful of how you didn’t let me have any input in the wedding so when the Windenburg trip was cancelled I saw this as an opportunity to get to do what I wanted for a change. I knew you might not like it here but I booked it anyway because I knew I would. It was wrong of me to do that.”

1162

His admission did not make me feel any better but I understood where he was coming from. I probably would have done the same thing. Heck, I might have done worse. “I understand. I guess we both have been behaving foolishly and I apologise as well for my earlier outburst and for not letting you have input in the wedding. So are we good now?”

“We are. We’re so good now that I want to give you a massage.”

“That’s…an interesting way to form a truce. I think I should fight with you more often if it means I get a massage afterwards.” I joked.

1163

“Oh, this is just a prelude to what’s to come. Let’s go home and pack our bags, we’re leaving in the morning. While I was gone I called and booked reservations at a spa retreat in Magnolia Promenade for the two of us.”

“What? Really? I always wanted to go to one of those!”

 “I know. I should have planned that in the first place. It is my job to make you happy, isn’t it?” He joked.

“You’re sure right about that!”

And oh was I happy indeed! The spa was amazing! From the moment I walked in I felt calm and poised for a day of pampering.

Once we changed into our robes we sat in a waiting area and enjoyed a few glasses of delicious fizzy fruit drinks that were loaded with fresh ingredients to flush out the toxins from our system.

1165

Then we moved on to a couple’s foot massage. Usually, I don’t like it when strangers touch me but I could get used to getting foot massages from a licenced practitioner.

1164

After the massage, we decided to take one of those bath soaks. I chose rose petals as I loved the smell of roses. Zachary went with a citrus soak because he felt it was the most masculine of all the other options. The room we were in had a decent view of the nearby shopping areas. We could go shopping at any time we wanted since the stores were so close.

1166

The sauna was the best part. You could literally feel all the bad stuff escaping through your pores.

“I love you, Gemma.” He said to me as he pulled me closer to his sweaty body.

“I love you too and once again I’m sorry for earlier.”

“Fights are normal. We just have to make sure we keep the lines of communication open. We’re stuck with each other now, for better or for worse, right?”

1167

“Right but maybe we can try to make this sauna session a little better.”

“How so?”

A flirtatious wink was all I needed to convince him. After checking to make sure no one was outside to peek in or hear us, we began steaming up that sauna even more. I’d never been so adventurous but it was my honeymoon after all and I wanted to take full advantage of it.

1168

Though the beginning of this honeymoon wasn’t what I had imagined, it turned out to be a great experience. I had a lot of fun and even though Zachary and I had a fight, we became closer because of it. Whether we were in a frumpy cabin or a luxurious spa, there was no one else I’d rather be with than him. It was in that moment after we stepped out of the sauna that I realised the truth – I really do love this man!

1169

