Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

“So what’s got you with that pout on your face?” Wolf asked, breaking me out of my thoughts. I caught a glimpse of Cyrus today at work. We didn’t get the chance to talk, thank goodness because I wouldn’t know what to say to him other than I’m sorry my stupid feelings made me come on to you in a stupid way and made our relationship complicated and awkward!

“Hello?! Ivy? Am I talking to myself?” He continued. I guess he didn’t really pull me out of my thoughts the first time.

1753

“Yeah, sorry. What were you saying?”

“Is everything okay? You seem very distracted today.”

“Just… a little tired. I didn’t realise the amount of work I’d be taking on with this project on top of my other duties.”

“Are you sure that’s all?” He asked. “You can talk to me if you need to.”

1754

“Thanks. I might take you up on that offer a little later but right now I have to get back to work.”

Wolf was sweet to offer a listening ear but I didn’t want anyone to know how bad I messed up with Cyrus. I was still feeling a little embarrassed by the whole thing that I couldn’t even confide in Izzy, and she’s my go-to person when I need a pep-talk or consoling.

I spent the rest of the day avoiding Cyrus and I think he was avoiding me as well. He didn’t take his lunch break at his usual time which is also the same time I had lunch. He didn’t even come outside while I was working on the rocket to check up on me like he usually would either. I knew I should be grateful that I didn’t have to face him but instead I felt worse.

Then when I got home from work I found him standing by my front door.

1755

“Hey Ivy”

“Hey”

“So…”

“So…?”

“You gonna hurry up and change or what?”

“What?” What was he talking about?

“Your sister’s show, it’s tonight. We were supposed to travel down to Willow Creek together and meet her at the night club.”

1756

“Oh right, I forgot about that.”

“Yeah, I looked for you at the lab and when I didn’t find you I thought you already left to go home and get ready.”

“I was in Doctor Bjorn’s office discussing the upgrades to the SimRay device. You still want to go? I mean, you don’t have to if you don’t want to…” I thought he was avoiding me. Maybe he feels obligated to go to Izzy’s show since he said he would come, but that was days ago, before…

“Would I be here if I didn’t want to go? Come on, we need to leave like fifteen minutes ago.”

“Okay, I’ll go change real quick and be right back.”

1757

He came to meet me at my house when he could have gone home to Willow Creek by himself and then go to the nightclub. I started thinking that the awkwardness was probably all in my head and the other night was only a big deal for me and not for him. Not sure how to feel about that if that’s the case but at least I was able to relax knowing that I didn’t completely screw up our friendship the other night.

We arrived just in time for Izzy’s set to begin. She didn’t have much of an audience with it being a Wednesday night but at least she had two people there who were guaranteed to laugh and clap at all of her jokes.

1758

1759

1760

After her show was over, Izzy found some random guy to flirt with leaving Cyrus and me alone.

“Izzy’s very talented.” Cyrus said. “She’s really good. She can become famous one of these days.”

“So can you if you actually pursued your music seriously.”

“You really believe in me that much?”

1761

“Of course, I do. Cy, you’re very talented as well. You just need a little more confidence in yourself.”

“I can say the same for you.”

What did he mean by that? “What do you mean by that?”

“Nevermind.”

“No, tell me.”

“It’s too noisy in here. Let’s go outside and talk, okay?”

We took a walk out to the back of the nightclub close to the river and I sat down on the bench. I motioned for him to join me but he remained standing.

“We have to discuss some things.” He began. “I know you’re trying to pretend like the other night didn’t happen but I can’t let that go.”

1762

“Cyrus…”

“Just answer one question. Truthfully. Do you like me, Ivy?”

“I…” My heart was racing to where I was sure I was experiencing a heart attack. I’d never been so nervous in my whole life. I liked him, but I couldn’t tell him that because then our friendship will be ruined! It’s clear he doesn’t feel the same way. I mean, if he did he would have made the first move, right? Cyrus is way more sure of himself than I am and based on what he told me about past girlfriends he always made the first move so it’s obvious that he does not like me the same way which means I can’t be honest with him about my feelings. “No.”

1763

“Really? Like not at all?”

“Not at all. I like you as a friend but not like…”

“Yeah, yeah, not like that.” He looked frustrated, or maybe disappointed? But why?

“Hey, look….”

“Then tell me something, if you don’t like me then why have you been avoiding me since the other night?”

1764

“I wasn’t avoiding you. In fact, you were the one avoiding me.”

“No I wasn’t.”

“Yes, you were. You didn’t have lunch with me, you didn’t check up with me at all today at work.”

“I was busy, Ivy. I didn’t mean to…”

“Yeah, right. Busy doing what? Sofia had a day off today and it’s not like you do anything else there other than being her errand boy.”

1765

“Well gee, thanks for insulting me professionally on top of hurting my feelings.”

Great, why the heck did I say such a thing? “I’m sorry…”

“Forget it. I’m going home. Text me to let me know when you and Izzy get home safely.” He said before he turned and walked away.

1766

“Cyrus. Cy… wait!” He didn’t listen to me and he continued walking until I saw him go around the corner.

Crap!

What the heck just happened? And what did he mean by I hurt his feelings? Does that mean he… Oh Watcher! I’m so confused!

1767

