Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Lyra loves her Daddy!

He’s the only one that can make her laugh. He’s the only one that can soothe her when she’s on a crying streak. He’s also the only one that can make her fall asleep quickly. I’m a little jealous of how great he is with her but then I realise how lucky I am that my daughter managed to have a great father just like I had.

2102

I was never a ‘daddy’s girl’ but I had a great relationship with Dad anyway. It was hard for me when he died and I was thankful that I had Cyrus around to help me cope with his loss. Seeing Cyrus with our daughter has me thinking a lot about Dad lately but I also can’t help but think about Mum.

She was not very good to me but she was my mother no less. Now that I have a daughter of my own, whom I love just as much as Kaleb, I can’t help but wonder how she could be so cruel to me when I can’t even imagine saying a bad thing about Lyra. She’s so innocent, so precious to me. All I want to do is hold her in my arms and protect her from the world. Why couldn’t my mother feel the same way about me?

2103

Soon after Lyra’s birth, mine and Izzy’s birthday came. We decided to throw a party to celebrate since this was going to be our mature adult birthday.

“Tanner seems to be getting along well with everyone.” I said as I saw him hanging out with Cyrus and Gabriel.

“He’s very outgoing. It’s one of the things I love about him.”

2104

“He’s making you happy right? I mean, you’re not gonna pretend everything is okay like you did when you were with Wolf right?”

“Don’t worry Vee, I am not pretending or anything like that. I’m in a perfectly healthy and fulfilling relationship so you can stop worrying about me.”

“Fat chance of that ever happening!”

2105

She might be older than me by two minutes but I’ve always felt like I had to look after her so as long as I’m alive I don’t think I’ll ever stop worrying about my twin.

Still, it’s good to be reassured that she’s in good hands.

2106

We blew out the candles on our cake, a cake that I made and didn’t burn this time, as everyone sang happy birthday to us.

2107

2108

Some people say you feel different when you celebrate your mature adult birthday. They say you can feel your youth slipping away as you now become a full-fledged adult. I didn’t. Maybe it was because I’ve always had a lot of responsibilities from an early age or maybe it’s because I never had the typical ‘youth’ that most people have. I never partied, except for that one time in Windenburg and that was enough for me. I honestly didn’t feel like I had to leave anything behind and embrace adulthood because to me I had already done that long ago.

Reaching adulthood wasn’t that big of a deal for me. Although I could have done without those wrinkles on my face that seemed to pop out of nowhere after the candles were blown out.

After the party, I talked to Cyrus about it but he claimed he didn’t see anything.

“You are such a liar!” I joked. “Stop trying to butter me up and be honest, do you see the crow’s feet or not?”

2109

“Nah, I know what this is. This is a trap and I’m not falling for it.”

“It’s not a trap, I promise. I just want to know if I need to start investing in some kind of anti-aging cream or something. I might need to start watching what I eat as well. I’m so big now! Those last few pregnancy pounds are taking too long to come off. I should probably stop eating snacks from the vending machine at work before I really start looking like a whale and…”

“Will you stop!” He sighed as he caressed my cheek. “I don’t like it when you talk about my woman like that.”

2110

“It’s the truth though.”

“The only truth I know is that you look the same to me as the day you walked into that lab and took my breath away. Now shut up and kiss me with your fine self!”

What else could I do but obey him?

2111

Everything in my life seemed to be falling into place. I had an amazing and supportive husband who didn’t mind being a stay at home Dad for most of the week. The lab was also doing well since I’ve been running it. We created so many great inventions that had the investors pleased.

The best news of all was that the rocket was finally complete and it had passed inspection.

Soon I would be able to travel to Sixam.

2112

Once I received the clearance from SASA and completed my training, the first person I wanted to tell was Gabriel. I knew he would be excited the most because of what this trip would mean for him.

Since our own rocket ship was destroyed when Mum died this would be the first time anyone from our family would get to travel to the planet. Maybe now that I’ve completed this rocket at work, I’ll have the time now to fix ours and then maybe Gabriel could travel by himself and be able to meet others like him.

2113

“Are you serious? So you mean this is really happening. You’re going to my planet for real?”

“Yes, I am.”

“Wow, this is great. Can I come with you?”

“You can’t. This will be a work trip so I won’t be able to take you with me but now that I know I can build this rocket I’m sure it won’t be a problem for me to get the clearance to rebuild ours and then you can go by yourself.”

“Geez, this is awesome. I almost can’t wait until you get back so you can begin working on it.”

2114

I couldn’t wait either.  I needed to take my first trip into space.

The day had come where I was finally about to take my first trip into space.

2115

2116

2117

After the rocket took off I felt confident that everything would run smoothly. I would land on Sixam, I would most likely be greeted by their ambassador, and then I would begin collecting the items we needed in the lab.

I didn’t think anything would go wrong.

I didn’t think that when I arrived within the planet’s orbit and tried to use the wormhole generator to teleport to their landing pad that I would be rejected. That they would begin to send their soldiers towards my rocket ship to threaten me into going back where I came from. They knew who I was and they said that my family had violated the treaty and from since then we were not allowed to set foot on Sixam anymore. But why? Why would they think we violated the treaty? I didn’t understand at all but I had no choice but to return home empty handed.

The worst part was having to break the bad news to my coworkers and then to the members of the board. I was in big trouble! Even SASA didn’t know why the Sixamians rejected me as they were not aware of anything that could have happened that would make the Sixamians not trust our family. My great-grandmother established this alliance between them and our family. It made no sense for them to do this unless…

My mother.

Did she have something to do with this? When I think back on the day she died and how no one knew why she went into space, I now wonder if she did go to Sixam and if she caused trouble while she was there?

Of course she did!

It seemed like my mother caused trouble everywhere she went so why should Sixam be any different!

Now I had to break the bad news to Gabe. Now I had to tell him that his chances of meeting others like him have significantly reduced. I was only disappointed about this whole thing but I knew he would be crushed. I hated being the bearer of bad news. I especially hated bringing bad news to my little brother.

2118

2119

“Isn’t there something you can do?” He asked. The desperation was evident in his tone. “Some way to mend relations with them?”

“I don’t think so. If they won’t let me on their planet then there’s no way I can begin to fix this. I don’t even know for sure what went wrong.” I didn’t tell him about my theory involving Mum because I didn’t know for sure if she had anything to do with it. Even though I was willing to bet money that she did.

2120

“There’s no way to communicate with them at all? There has to be some way, Ivy. Some way to get in touch with someone over there so you can plead your case?”

I was about to tell him no but then I got an idea. A brilliant idea! Was giving me scientific breakthroughs one of Gabe’s powers? I laughed at the thought and then he looked at me like I was crazy.

“You okay, sis?”

“I am.” I knew what I had to do. It was risky but I had to take that chance and not just because my job was on the line but for my brother’s sake as well.  “Gabe. I have an idea. I’m gonna fix this. I promise.”

2121

