Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

The morning after the wedding was when Gabe and Reyna had to leave for Sixam so we all gathered in my basement lab to say goodbye to them before they stepped into the wormhole generator.

2182

2183

2184

2185

2186

Cyrus took the children upstairs for breakfast leaving me alone with them. Even though I knew I was still going to see them again and was really grateful for that, it didn’t hurt any less to watch them go. I grew very fond of Reyna in a way I didn’t think would happen in such a short space of time. I really was very happy that she was the one they picked for him.

“So this is it huh little brother. You’re finally going back to your real home.”

“Ivy, that’s not true. Sixam may be my home planet but here with you guys will always be my home.”

2187

“Ivy, I want to thank you.” He continued. “You and Izzy and Jo have been the best sisters I could have ever asked for but you especially, you took care of me after Dad died and you never gave me a chance to miss him. You’ve always been there for me, always looking out for me, always the one I can go to for advice. I mean, you’ve basically dedicated so much time and energy into the rocket, and then the satellite and then trying to mend the bridges that your mum destroyed and it was all for me and I am so grateful, so thankful.”

“You don’t need to thank me, Gabe. I’d do it all for you again in a heartbeat.”

2188

“I’ll miss you.”

2189

And then two of them were gone.

Everyone was sad for a while after they left but it didn’t take too long for the kids to bounce back to normal. Now that I was no longer working long hours or spending my evenings with Gabe preparing him for Sixam, I had a lot more time on my hands to spend with my family.

I didn’t get to spend much time with Isabel during her pregnancy since I was so involved with Gabe’s situation. Thankfully she didn’t mind as she had Tanner who doted on his wife the way a husband should.

I finally got to meet her twins. Aden and Nathaniel were so adorable. They reminded me of Kaleb when he was a baby. I guess one of us was meant to have twins. I’m glad it wasn’t me because I don’t think I could handle having two babies at once.

2190

Still, it kinda made me think of having another one of my own.

I always wanted two kids but somehow playing with Izzy’s babies, hearing them coo and smelling that new baby scent gave me baby fever.

I knew Cyrus would love the idea since he initially wanted a whole bunch of kids before I talked him down to just two. I used to be so busy before and now with Gabe in Sixam and everything else running smoothly at work I feel like now I’m able to have the time for another child.

But things have been weird between Cyrus and me.

I don’t know what it is but he’s been acting strangely these days. He barely talks to me anymore, he’s always going out almost as soon as I get home from work and he never tells me where he’s going. When it gets late I call but he almost never answers and then he cuts me off like he doesn’t want to talk to me.

2191

I think I know what’s happening.

I think he’s….I think he might…I think he might be having an affair!

I don’t want it to be true but what else could it be?

He goes out for hours and he doesn’t tell me where he’s going. He hesitates to answer my calls when he is gone. He barely speaks to me when he is at home. Now that I think about it, I can’t remember the last time we woohooed!

Oh Watcher! I can’t believe this! Is Cyrus really cheating on me? I’ve let my insecurities get the better of me before and assumed stuff like this already with very little evidence to support it but I don’t think I’m being crazy now. He’s hiding something that’s for sure and my intuition tells me that this is what it is.

2192

When did this happen? When did my marriage start to fall apart? I love him! I love him just as much as I did when we got married and I don’t want to lose him but…what if I already have?

Who is this next woman? Why is she better than me? Why does he want to break up our marriage for her?

Sometimes, late at night, I would catch him texting her on his phone…with a smile on his face. The same smile he used to have when he was with me.

2193

How could he do that me? Sitting there texting some floozy in our bedroom knowing I was just a few feet away!

“Who are you texting?”

“Uh…just Blair.” He said, just barely looking up from the phone.

His sister? No one texts their sister at one in the morning! “I don’t believe you. Let me see your phone.”

“What? No.” His eyes narrowed like I offended him or something.

“Why not? If you’re not hiding anything then you should show me your phone. Show  me who you’re really texting!” I didn’t realise I was yelling until he started shushing me.

“You wanna wake the kids up with your nonsense? I’m not showing you my phone Ivy.” He said curtly.

2194

“Why not?”

“Because it’s none of your damned business, that’s why! Why do you even care anyway?”

None of my business?! Why do I care?!

I wanted to argue with him but it was like I lost my voice. I felt so hurt, so betrayed. He spoke to me so harshly it was like he didn’t even….he didn’t love me anymore.

2195

I didn’t let him see me cry. I went into the bathroom and shut the door, turning on the water in the tap so he wouldn’t hear me cry either. Why was this happening to us? What went wrong?

I waited until I saw him turn off the lights before I came back out and then went to bed. The next morning, he was already up and about getting Kaleb and Lyra ready for school. We didn’t talk. I went to work and distracted myself with reports so I wouldn’t have to think about the fact that my marriage was falling apart.

When I got home, he left. Probably to go see her.

I wasn’t gonna do this anymore. If he didn’t want to talk to me, to be man enough to tell me to my face what was going on, then I was gonna find out myself!

I wasn’t going to take this lying down. I wasn’t gonna let some hussy take him away from me!

I dropped Kaleb and Lyra over to Johanna’s house and then I followed him.

All the way to Willow Creek!

2196

It’s no wonder he’d be gone for so long if he had to travel all the way to Willow Creek to see her and then come back home. I kept my distance from him to avoid having him see me. As I jogged down the pavement I saw him come to a stop in front of a house. I felt sick. I didn’t think I was prepared for this.

But then I decided that I needed to confront him. I couldn’t continue to make assumptions anymore. I had to know the truth once and for all! I saw the look of disbelief on his face as I approached him. He couldn’t avoid me now. He had to tell me what was going on. If he was seeing another woman behind my back then I deserved to know.

Even if knowing breaks my heart.

2197

